B-MORE Cultured Interview: Actress/singer Sky Ferreira on “Putty Hill”

photo: Nylon

 Sky Ferreira is a 17- year-old singer/songwriter/ LA native who plays Jenny, a lead in Baltimore based film director, Matt Porterfield’s “Putty Hill.” She was originally set to play a role in “Metal Gods” a scripted film by Porterfield. Here is her take on the switch, filming and Baltimore.

How did you feel when director, Matt Porterfield told you that he wasn’t going through with “Metal Gods” and you’d be doing a new project, “Putty Hill”?

I felt like it would be a challenge to change roles. I like challenges…

 How long did you spend in Baltimore, where were you staying during the shoot?

I was staying with Matt and his wife Sarah while shooting. I was there for about 2 and a half weeks,I think.

 What was your experience working in Baltimore? What’d you think of the city/people?

Where we shot was a bit of a culture shock.For sure taught me a lot. I got to experience the “real” Baltimore considering I was with Matt who was born and raised there.

Sky Ferreira (right) photo by: Joyce Kim

How did you feel about not having a script? Was it ever hard to answer his questions for the film?

Like I said before I like challenges. Not that I remember because when I got to Baltimore and learned about the situation and plot I turned into Jenny so it came pretty naturally.

What was it like working with Matt Porterfield..and the rest of the cast and crew?

Really fun. I was really comfortable with Matt considering we were working on “Metal Gods” almost a year prior.

Where are you from?

I’m from Los Angeles. Born and raised, but I’m moving to New York City this Spring part time.

 Have you seen the film, if so what do you think about it?

Of course I’m going to critique myself, but I was really surprised how well and raw it came out.

What events will you be attending to support the film?  How do you feel about the fact that the film played at the Berlinale, an international festival?

I think it’s amazing it played there. I went to the screening in NY this March.

About Katie K.

Katie K is an aspiring something or other from Baltimore. She loves film & music. contact: Katie.Killon@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Interviews, Putty Hill and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

