B-MORE Cultured Interview: Baltimore native, Cody Ray on his first acting gig

Cody Ray (right) / photo by Joyce Kim

Last summer, non-professional actor, Cody Ray was cast in Matt Porterfield’s “Putty Hill.”

The film was shot in Baltimore and has played in Berlin, Vienna, Austin and New York. 

Here is what Ray had to say about being cast in the film and acting for the first time.  

1) How did you get involved with Putty Hill/ were you originally cast in Metal Gods?   

I just went for an audition with my older brother for Metal Gods and they said they liked both of us and they called us back later telling us they couldn’t get the funding, but they still wanted us apart of this film.
2) What was it like working with Matt Porterfield?   

He was such a great guy to work with. He is easy going and understanding all the way around and the crew was so cool, good people– it was a great atmosphere.  

3) How did you feel about not having a script?  

Well I read the script and memorized it and when he told me I didn’t need it, I was like HUH? But he just told me what he wanted to see and I tried my best to perform it for him and the crew.  

4) Did you ever have any problems on set?   

No not really, I just got nervous a little sometimes and forgot what my actions were on what he wanted to see and I think I messed up like once on what I had to say, but on the paint ball part was probably the hardest. It started out fine and then it just turned into a war! Matt was like “cut, cut! ” but we kept shooting each other it was a lot of fun.  

photo by Joyce Kim

 

5) How was working with the rest of the cast and crew?  

It was cool, I didn’t work with a lot of the other crew as much as my brother, and you know he’s my brother so it was really easy.  

6) Had you acted before?   

No, I have never acted but I always wanted to since I was a little kid and have always dreamed of doing it, but I just try to act the way they see fit for the part it’s really on what they want to see come out of the person in the movie.  

7) How do you feel about the fact that the film is playing festivals around the world?  

Well ”SHOCKED” is the first word that comes to mind, but I am very excited to be a part of this whether it blows up or doesn’t, I just think that Matt is very talented in what he does and he brings a different outlook to movies that most people don’t see, but is very raw and overlooked but all in all I am very honored to be one of those people to be a part of this.  I want to thank family and friends for helping us out while making this and Matt P. and the crew thank you everyone Peace. Cody Ray….

Putty Hill is scheduled to hit more venues both foreign and domestic.

About Katie K.

Katie K is an aspiring something or other from Baltimore. She loves film & music. contact: Katie.Killon@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Interviews, Putty Hill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to B-MORE Cultured Interview: Baltimore native, Cody Ray on his first acting gig

  1. hlemai says:

    Aw he seems like a nice guy. That must feel crazy when the director tells you to just forget the script.

Leave a Reply

