11/13 Groundhog Day, 11/17 Wye Oak

Last week was pretty cool. I’ve started an internship with the Maryland Film Festival and I’ve been helping out by selling tickets for screenings. Last week Dan Deacon & Jimmy Joe Roche’s “Gunky’s Basement” presented “Groundhog Day.” I actually hadn’t seen the film and was pleasantly surprised.  What a refreshingly weird/ semi- goofy film. Bill Murray is awesome and gives a great performance.

I also really enjoyed the crowd– sometimes when you see a film it’s quiet– and everyone is focused in a very individualized way, but this audience had  a really unified laughter which made it feel as though we were all in the same living room. If you haven’t been to a Gunky’s Basement film, I’d say go for it. After all it’s only 5 bucks.

my favorite scene:

On Saturday 12/17, I saw Wye Oak at a sold-out show at the Ottobar. They played a mix of songs from “The Knot” and “Civilian,” my personal obsession “I Hope You Die” from their EP My Neighbor/My Creator and a few cover songs. I was really impressed with how hard they played. Maybe I had wrongly stereotyped them as a soft indie rock duo… that they are not. It was very cool to see them as notable Baltimore musicians playing to their hometown audience.  I don’t think any videos have surfaced from this show, but here is a taste of Holy, Holy live.. somewhere else..at some other time!

About Katie K.

Katie K is an aspiring something or other from Baltimore. She loves film & music. contact: Katie.Killon@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Baltimore film, Baltimore music, Maryland Film Festival and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

